Electricity and the New Power: Free Energy Society

Freedom of speech, freedom of the press, freedom of religion, the freedom to peaceably assemble. These are all inalienable rights guaranteed in the Constitution. Something is missing. It seems that every couple hundred years or so, an new kind of freedom is being invented and those freedoms eventually become demanded and accepted.

I propose the newest freedom. I demand freedom of electricity. If you think I’m crazy, then you don’t truly understand the implications of a free energy society. And if you don’t think a free energy society is possible in a generation, then you’ve had you’re head in the sand for twenty years or you’ve lived in the executive penthouse of Exxon’s headquarters your whole life.

Petroleum has become one of the largest forms of social control in the world. Everyone needs some kind of petroleum based fuel albeit methane, propane, gas or diesel for transportation, warmth, in water heaters, and in power plants. And all of these contribute to increasing greenhouse gas emissions and Global Warming. (How many times do I have to rant about Global Warming?) How hard is it to put solar panels on the roofs of every building in America? We buy a new car every ten years, why can’t we buy an electric car that is powered by electricity via a solar panel? Free fuel is pretty cheap.

There are further implications to a free energy society: people are free from their local niches. For some people, they are imprisoned in their own homes and neighborhoods. A brave new world would be available to these people. I sometimes take it for granted that I can go online and book an airline ticket to anywhere in the world (provided I have the money at the time) and I just go.

I’m not a writer and I know there are all sorts of small holes in my ideas that can be ripped apart at the will of any conservative, but where has hope, optimism and equality gone? Why do I debate visiting a friend that lives 50 miles away because gas is $3.25 a gallon? Of course I go, but it’s expensive to maintain ties to good friends, and I don’t want anyone to be limited by such mundane and cursory issues that are so easily solved through the spread of information and new ideas.

I want to be the first to say that I demand freedom of energy, freedom of electricity. And once I free myself from the corrupt and monstrous energy industry I’m coming back to help as many people as I can. Please do the same.

This entry was posted in Quick Ideas and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Electricity and the New Power: Free Energy Society

  1. deadondres says:

    In a way, this is an expansion of another right that many consider to be as fundamental as freedom of expression or affiliation – freedom of movement.

    I really like this post, go optimism!

    It’s time to make idealism hip and relevant again.

    • activephilosophy says:

      I think that you nailed it in your text conversation, “people are so in love with ‘that’s the way it is.”

      Why not improve? What’s the big deal with striving to be better?

      It’s like this fucking Coors ad I’ve been seeing recently. It is an advertisement to the good ‘ol boys and it effectively says we ain’t changing and we’re proud of it. It pisses me off, because it is just an example of how indoctrinated and even glorified the “that’s the way it is” mentality is.

Leave a Reply

